Dink Farrik IPA

I’m a bit of a Star Wars fan. If you know me, then you know for example, that I have multiple shelves with models I’ve assembled over the years. Or you’ve seen the t-shirts. Or you know my wallpaper is a scene from Rebels which is, IMHO, the best star wars after the original trilogy. Or that I think Dave Filoni is George Lucas’ Paul. If you know, you know.

I also like watching The Mandalorian and I’ve enjoyed the introduction of sci-fi swear words like Dink Farrik. It is a fun way to get around censorship and keep something appropriate for other ages while also adding depth to the star wars universe.

I also brew gluten free beer and, generally, enjoy doing so.

I was brewing up a batch about 3 weeks ago. It was a bit of a cobbled together recipe. I had a bunch of different ingredients leftover from prior purchases and wanted to get another type of beer in the basement. So here is the recipe I came up with:

3 Gallon Recipe

3.3lbs Sorghum

1lb D-45 Candi Syrup

1lb Maltodextrin

2 cups Brown sugar

3oz Cascade Hops

S-05 Yeast

So here is the thing: everything that could go wrong went wrong. I kind of improvised this and (maybe) brewed it without being totally prepared. I had the sorghum and sugar and malto in the pot with the water at a boil. It was a smaller pot because I was doing a 1 gallon boil. When I added my first round of hops it did something that has never, ever, happened: I had a boil over!

So here was the first problem: I definitely lost some hops and sugar. No idea how much.

After I got everything under control I proceeded with the brew. The rest of it went fine. When it came time to add the brew into the bucket I had another problem: I didn’t have any hop bags for the brew. No biggie; in the past I used a very fine sieve to pour everything through. Wouldn’t you know that after everything was poured thourhg it and the sieve was draining into the bucket, the stupid thing fell into the bucket. So many hops fell into the bucket, it was awful. I decided whatever, I’ll treat this like a dry hop (even though it isn’t). Put the lid on and called it a day.

I racked it a week later and got a LOT of hops out.

Bottling day came and I remembered that I had used all of my sanitizing solution. So I put in an order and the thing sat in the bucket for about another week. Oops.

I racked it a few more times and then bottled it. Most of the hops were removed.

So, I decided to call it Dink Farrik IPA. Because it, dink farrik, nothing went right.

I’ll let you know how it tastes.

The honey ale is bottle conditioned. I’ll post a separate review of it later but I have started to enjoy it.

I think, however, I am happier that I have two different beers in bottles. It has been many years since my homebrew operations were up and running like this.

Leave a comment