Rum Balls (Gluten Free)

I will be traveling a lot during the next few weeks so the postings will be sporadic.

I made rum balls yesterday. I’ve never made them before (and I don’t think I’ve ever had them before) but I wanted to give it a shot.

This is the recipe I worked with:

4 c. vanilla wafer crumbs
1 1/4 c. Baker Angel Flake coconut
1 c. finely chopped nuts
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 c. rum
Confectioners’ sugar

Combine crumbs, coconut, and nuts in bowl. Stir in condensed milk and rum, mixing well. Shape into 1 inch balls and roll in confectioners’ sugar to coat. Cover and store in refrigerator. Roll again in sugar, just before serving.

So I knew I was going to have to change things to make it gluten free. I bought a package of Schar Hazelnut Wafers and I had a bunch of these delicious almond cookies and I figured between the two I’d get enough cups to cover the vanilla wafer crumbs and finely chopped nuts. I was wrong.

My wafers gave me less than 1 cup. My almond cookies gave me 2 cups. So I used a combination of vanilla and chocolate chexs to make up the difference.

The result?

Well, we’ll see how people react. The flavor profile is definitely unique. With so many different flavors: hazelnut, chocolate, vanilla and almonds in the balls each bite is different. But the rum really dominates the flavor. Almost too much so. I’m not sure if that is because I used gluten free ingredients or if that is normally how they taste. But either way, I did successfully make gluten free rum balls so if you want to, you can too

Leave a Reply

