Wrestling with Kierkegaard

Have I mentioned how brilliant The Hyperion Cantos is? I’m nearly finished with the Scholar’s tale. It is a retelling of Abraham and Isaac. Throughout the second half, the scholar is wrestling with the ethics of Kierkegaarde. Then it hit me: Kierkegaarde’s teleological suspension of ethics! Fear and Trembling! The Hyperion Cantos may be one of the most nuanced books I’ve ever read.  If you aren’t well read, you’ll miss so much!  I wonder how much I’ve already missed?

Leave a Reply

