Leftover Chicken Soup (for when you are sick)

Yes, I know today I said I wasn’t going to post for a while and here is my 2nd post since then but…I’m having trouble writing my sermon. So… Last night I made chicken soup. It was unbelievably good and hit the spot on a cold day for a family suffering with sinus/cold/ear infections. I don’t measure much so I can’t give you too many precise figures but I would recommend you try it out. It was fantastic. I made it with what we had on hand, so it was kind of leftover chicken soup.

Ingredients:

  • Cooked chicken (white and dark meat). Maybe 2 cups? The chicken was from Lamppost Farm. I can’t promote them enough!
  • Chopped Carrots (maybe 3 carrots?)
  • Chopped Celery (maybe 2 stalks?)
  • Chopped 1/2 of an onion (all we had on hand)
  • Chopped 1 Green Bell Pepper
  • Chopped half a head of cauliflower
  • 2 cherry tomatoes (because we had 2 cherry tomatoes…)
  • 1 can of great northern beans
  • green chilies (maybe half a can? They were in a bag in the freezer)
  • Some basil
  • Some oregano
  • Some thyme
  • Some dehydrated onion flakes
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • Some salt and pepper
  • 2 cups of chicken stock (homemade)
  • 2 1/2 cups of water

I chopped up the veggies and sauteed them in butter and salt. Once they were pretty soft, I added the chicken broth, 2 cups of water and the cooked chicken. Then I eyeballed the seasoning. I simmered this for probably 2 hours. Quite a lot of liquid cooked off and it tasted just a bit too salty so I added a half cup of water to it.

This was really good. It kind of reminded me of white bean chili meets chicken vegetable soup. It had some heat but not too much. And it definitely hit the spot. Tasted just as good today.

Oh yeah, and it is gluten free.

Leave a Reply

