Apple Upside Down cake

Another gluten free blog I like to check out is EZ Gluten Free. She has a Youtube channel so you can see videos of her preparing the dishes, which makes it easier to follow the recipe. One of the things I really appreciate about her recipes is that, for the most part, she uses Bisquick’s Gluten Free flour mix. Why do I like that? Because Aldi’s own gluten free baking mix is (please don’t sue me) a rip-off of the Bisquick recipe.

So today I made her Apple Upside Down cake. It has been raining off and on here and the leaves seem to be at their peak for changing and I just wanted something that said: Autumn. Apples, cinnamon and brown sugar seemed to fit the bill.

A few modifications (intentional and unintentional):

  1. I didn’t add the applesauce to the cake batter. I meant to, but I got interrupted while mixing the cake and when I went back to finish it–I forgot I hadn’t added the applesauce in until after it was in the oven! Oops and oh well–that’s part of life when you have young children.
  2. I didn’t have any walnuts so I left those out. But even if I had walnuts I wouldn’t have used them because when it comes to nuts, walnuts are my least favorite.
  3. I left the nutmeg out because Mrs. Wine will not eat anything I make if it has nutmeg in it.

I haven’t tried it yet, but I did take a picture for your pleasure. It smells great! Enjoy eating with your eyes!

20141016_195512

Update: It tastes amazing.

Leave a Reply

