Review: Black Jack Pershing

This past weekend I made it to my old hometown and was able to spend a great time with family and friends. I was also able to bring a 6 pack of my Black Jack Pershing to my brother-in-law who helped me brew it.

20140930_213522

This is an interesting beer. I’d never used Mt. Hood hops before and I don’t know if it was my addition choice or what but I will say this: this beer is bitter and will punch you in the face even when you’re ready for it. I actually would say this is more bitter than my all Columbus hop beer, Silver Bullet IPA.

Overall, I really like this beer/cider. It is delicious, has a very complex flavor and is hard to describe but goes down pretty easy.

I told my brother-in-law (henceforth Mr. Bourbon) it reminded me of a sour apple. He agreed, it has an odd flavor profile like an ESB but then suddenly there is a mouthful of apple flavor and it seems like a granny smith. Mr. Bourbon is not on a gluten free diet but loved the beer so I take that as a sign that yes, this one like many other gf beers, is a legit contender.

If you are interested in something that is bitter but apple-ly, I’d recommend you make this brew!

Leave a Reply

