Christmas in September!

While rummaging around in my brew “closet” in the basement I made a fun discovery: one bottle of the Transfiguration IPA and 2 bottles of my 1st Date Dunkel! So I enjoyed those this week and I have a final update on both of them:

in one word I would describe them as excellent beers.

 

The Transfiguration IPA is probably one of the best beers I’ve ever made; certainly it is in the top 2. I’ll most definitely brew that beer again.

The 1st Date Dunkel is also good, but next time I would not add oak and I think I’d up the chocolate. The chocolate flavor didn’t survive the long term bottle conditioning and once the chocolate was gone, it was definitely missing something. But it developed a monster head! I think I could have put a quarter on it and it wouldn’t have sunk down! I mean look at these pictures!

20140917_220818

 

20140917_220825

Leave a Reply

