Ice cream, books and beer

A few updates and thoughts to share with you, my very small audience. 

 

Ice Cream:

        I made gluten free Cookies and Cream ice cream the other day. It turned out even better than I imagined it would. Sooo good. 

Beer:

       So I haven’t brewed any beer in a while which has resulted in a lack of posts. The simple explanation is that I have more than enough right now. Probably at some point in the early winter I’ll brew another dark beer but right now, what I have is sufficient. I plan on visiting Auroch’s Brewery this month and I’ll probably pick up a growler there and my brother-in-law has a 6 pack of Woodchuck Cider’s Belgian White waiting for me in Ohio which means I’ll have even more and not need to brew any more. 

…That being said since Fall is approaching us I’ll probably make some sort of cider. It just seems like the right thing to do this time of year. 

Books

    I put reading The Drunken Botanist aside so there will be no formal review forthcoming. I do recommend the book if you are interested in botanical history or the history of alcohol or appreciate a good writer. The book is a wonderful resource and I stopped reading it because I decided it would better serve me to purchase it and not check it out from the library. That way, I can make annotations and write in the margins. 

   On Facebook I notice a number of people “challenging” other people to list the 10 most influential books they have read. No one has challenged me to that but I thought it looked like fun so I’ll list them here. In no particular order:

  1. The Bible by God the Spirit
  2. The Leap of Faith and the Limits of Reason by Soren Kierkegaard (without this essay I wouldn’t be a Christian)
  3. The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander
  4. The Return of the Prodigal Son by Henri Nouwen 
  5. A Time of Gifts/Between the Woods and the Water by Patrick Leigh Fermor (okay, technically those are 2 books but..)
  6. The Razor’s Edge by Somerset Maugham
  7. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis
  8. Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton (especially chapter 4)
  9. The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  10. Beau Geste by P.C. Wren
2 thoughts on “Ice cream, books and beer

Leave a Reply

