Summer Recipes!

Well, it was a long time coming but Spring appears to finally be here. I have a French Saison that I hope to brew in the next week or two (depending upon when the ingredients arrive and I actually have the time) but I thought I’d share three of my favorite recipes for the summer.

The first is technically not a beer. But it isn’t a cider either. It is kind of hard to classify because it is hard lemonade. It is somewhat similar to Skeeter Pee but Skeeter Pee (A) involves a white wine yeast cake and (B) is a terrible name. No, mine is the stuff of the gods. A number of years back, Mrs. Wine and I went down to Louisiana to attend the wedding of our friends. One day, while walking in the French Quarter I purchased a glass “Louisiana Lemonade.” This was essentially Lemonade with rum. It was very refreshing and so last Spring I thought I’d try my own take on it.

Now, somewhat amusingly, I didn’t really care for the final product. So I gave it away (Mrs. Wine was pregnant at the time). It was such a hit that I actually made another batch just to give away to more people. And already I have been asked if I would be making more of it this year. Maybe. But, here is the recipe for those who are interested.

Louisiana Lemonade (Hard Lemonade)

3 Gallon Batch

  • 3 gallons of organic lemonade
  • The peels of 3 lemons
  • 4 cups of white table sugar
  • Yeast (S-04/05 I never use wine yeast except for my meads)

I let this ferment for about 3 weeks and then right before bottling I added:

  • 1 cup of simple syrup
  • 1 375ml bottle of Bacardi Limon


So there ya go! If you are gluten free and miss Mike’s Hard Lemonade, you can make this for the summer.


 

The next recipe I’d like to share with you is a single hop IPA. I’m from Columbus, Ohio and as everyone knows, we have the best football team in the country (Go Buckeyes!). But in the day under coach John Cooper, the defense was called the “Silver Bullets.” So I decided to make an all Columbus hop (get it?) IPA for football season.

Silver Bullet IPA

5 Gallon Batch

Fermentables

  • 3lbs Sorghum Extract
  • 1lb 6oz rice syrup
  • 2 1/2 lbs Honey

Hops

All hops are Columbus

  • 1 oz @ 60
  • .5 oz @ 15
  • .5 oz @ 5
  • .5 oz @ 0 minutes

Miscellaneous

  • 1lb lactose

I used S-o4 for the yeast and then dry hopped 1oz of Columbus hops for 7 days in the primary before racking to the secondary for another 7 days.

This turned out fantastic. It was so bitter I couldn’t touch it for at least a month after bottling but eventually, the bitterness subsided and the lactose added just enough sweetness to really balance everything out. I really recommend this for a summer brew. It was so good the batch didn’t make it to football season!


 

Last but not least a very important recipe. This beer I brewed fairly early in my GF homebrewing experiment and it taught me that I could do this and that I could do it really well. The recipe was designed by Homebrewtalk user Igliashon (who has taught me much). He has taken a job as brewer at Ghostfish Brewing Company and on their blog provided the recipe and instructions for the Grapefruit IPA. I will most definitely be brewing this again very soon for the summer months.

A few minor changes that I made when I brewed this:

Grapefruit IPA

5 Gallon Batch

Fermentables:

  • 3lbs Sorghum extract
  • 1lb 6oz Brown Rice Syrup
  • 2lbs D-45 Candi Syrup
  • 80z honey

Hops:

  • 1oz Columbus @60 minutes
  • 1oz Cascade @15 minutes
  • 1oz Centennial @10 minutes
  • 1oz Cascade @ 5 minutes
  • 1oz Cascade @1 minute

Miscellaneous:

  • S-05 Yeast
  • 8oz of Maltodextrine
  • Zest of half a grapefruit at 5 minutes

Finally, dry hop 2oz of Centennial hops for the first 7 days. I would also recommend adding some large pieces of grapefruit peel for that time period as well. If you only make one beer, make this one. You won’t regret it!

Acts 2.42-47: “And they devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers. And awe came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were being done through the apostles. And all who believed were together and had all things in common. And they were selling their possessions and belongings and distributing the proceeds to all, as any had need.  And day by day, attending the temple together and breaking bread in their homes, they received their food with glad and generous hearts, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord added to their number day by day those who were being saved.” (ESV)

One thought on “Summer Recipes!

  1. Pingback: Review: Black Jack Pershing | Three Taverns Brewery

Leave a Reply

