Blueberry Pancake Mead

This is a new recipe for me but I am pretty excited for the outcome. I read a version of this recipe online but I can’t find it anywhere. However, it stuck in my mind because I thought it sounded delicious.

All of my mead recipes are 1 gallon batches. The amount of honey for a 5 gallon batch would be cost prohibitive, plus I can’t see Mrs. Wine or myself enjoying 5 gallons of one type of mead–except for one recipe that I’ll post next time I make it.

Blueberry Pancake Mead

  1. 2lbs of honey
  2. 2 cups of blueberries
  3. 8.5 oz of pure maple syrup.
  4. 1/2 packet of Lalvin K1-V1116 yeast

Bring the maple syrup and blueberries to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 10 minutes. This will help concentrate the flavors.  Also, anytime I add fruit to a mead I boil/simmer it first for about 10 minutes. Don’t ask me why; it just seems like the right thing to do.

After 10 minutes, add the blueberry/syrup mixture, honey and water into the jug. Pitch yeast and let go for a while. In about 2 weeks, maybe a month, you’ll want to rack the mead to help clear it up. This will probably take a few transfers to get clear.

That’s it!

blueberry pancake mead

Leave a Reply

