Dry-Hopped Cider

Currently, there seems to be a bit of a rage when it comes to adding hops to your cider. The way the hops are added is a technique known as “dry-hopping.” Dry-hopping is when you add the hops to your brew post-boil.  I first made a dry-hopped cider about a year ago and loved it. Since then, it has become a regular in my line-up of brews. The first batch I made was a 3 gallon batch. For whatever reason, I keep making 3 gallon batches of this instead of upping it to 5 gallons. I guess I am a creature of habit. Here is my 3 gallon recipe for dry-hopped cider.

  • 3 gallons of apple juice or cider poured into the fermenting bucket.
  • 2lbs of sugar (I usually use dark sugar).
  • Yeast (S-04, S-05 or Nottingham). I ALWAYS use ale yeast for my cider.
  • 1oz hops

After it ferments for 2 weeks I add 1oz of hops. Yes, 1 oz of hops. I initially started out with .5oz but kept increasing it and I have found 1oz for 3 gallons is just perfect. Every time I have made this I use cascade hops. Let that go another week, then remove the hops, transfer to bottling bucket and bottle. I don’t add any priming sugar. This makes it slightly carbonated, dry with a strong apple-grass flavor that is wonderful.

I just made a batch of this and will be trying out Hallertau hops as an experiment to see how it tastes and what difference it impacts from my normal use of cascade hops.

One thought on “Dry-Hopped Cider

  1. Pingback: Dry-Hopped Cider Update | Three Taverns Brewery

Leave a Reply

